Pep Ventosa technique 2nd try

We've been to Harrogate today to meet up with Yorkshire Life, so we headed for her (and our) favourite lunchtime venue - Betty's at Harlow Carr (the Royal Horticultural Society gardens).  So after a very good salmon lunch and after purchasing very expensive Betty's delicious sweet things for later we had half an hour in the gardens where I got to walk around this tree.  Unfortunately I forgot to look for it's name.  Although I walked all the way round this image is made up of 11 images that were taken from one side.  Each layer needs to be more opaque than the previous one so I began with 100% and the 75% and 50% and then gradually lowered until I got to around 8% in the final layer.  I also used layer blend modes this time, so I managed to get this deeper colour without doing any final tweaking to the image.  I'll need to go back and write down my layer details because I really tweaked instinctively and I'm nor sure what I did.

I think this one works better than my first try, the magenta geranium and I've tried to use images that more or less keep the shape of the tree.  I've got loads more images of it, so might try for a different version later.

We had a good drive home as I think we were early enough to avoid most school traffic (some areas are on holiday this week) and we got through Wetherby without too many problems as the road works there now seem to have finished.  It's good to be home with the fire lit, even though it's dark outside.  

From the RHS Facebook page I've learnt that the tree is a swamp cypress (Taxodium distichum), one of only four deciduous conifers in the world

p.s. Our first frost of the year this morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.