Hang time

I remember hanging this canvas painting of a Cambodian apsara on a stark white apartment wall in Phnom Penh. I hung it afresh tonight on an equally barren wall in Cambridge. In the last week, with the enforced slower pace, I've spent more time in my flat than I have done all year. I'm very much enjoying it and it's acquiring more and more of a lived-in feel.

The time in Cambodia sometimes feels like an out of body experience. I have now been based back in the UK for around the same length of time that I lived in Cambodia. I am trying to make sure the memories remain fresh and the perspectives I gained remain real and forceful. I will leave this apartment one day and move overseas again, and where that may be is a very exciting prospect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.