Open Wide

I was very surprised that my granddaughter wanted us to continue the tradition of carving a pumpkin together as she is sixteen, surely too old for childish Halloween pursuits? Not a bit of it, she was very keen as she wants to study dentistry. She got fantastic results in the necessary academic subjects at GCSE but thinks that exacting craft work will show that she has the practical aptitude too. In my pic she's putting the finishing touches to our meerkat. We just about got it finished and up at the window in time for the trick or treaters. There was a lovely fun atmosphere in the area where she lives.

Today's poem is When I have fears that I may cease to be by John Keats. https://www.poets.org/poetsorg/poem/when-i-have-fears-i-may-cease-be

Day of the dead poem. Keats was aware of his own fame and wrote as much for fame as for exercising and challenging his poetic imagination.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.