That time of year again

Each year the Western Front Association send me two 'In Remembrance' crosses to put on graves at St Catherines Church, Matson, Gloucester. They are always looking for people to help out with this very simple, annual, task.
In my case, as well as placing a cross on the grave of Trooper  Victor George Lane, I also tidy up the grave of Gnr John E. Herbert because there is always brambles and other weeds growing in the flat, gravelled, tomb stone cover.
The first time I did it was quite a job, the brambles were thick and had obviously been cut but not pulled out. In the past few years it's got easier as they are not so big (before is on the left, after on the right).

I am going to contact my friends at BBC Gloucestershire to see if I can find the family through a radio appeal. Each year the gravestone is tilting a little more and neither the Western Front Association or the Commonwealth War Graves Commission can take responsibility for correcting this as it is a private grave, neither they have the budget to do it.
I want to try to contact the family as I expect they are unaware of it's condition, if they are aware of the grave at all.
The CWGC did come out an redo the wording when I reported that it was illegible, at least now you can read what it says. I didn't want to do it myself in case I made a mess of it, and I couldn't make a lot of it out anyway but they had a record of it.

Another good night at TESCO on the poppy appeal stand. Last night so many Riders turned up that I finished early and went home. No point in seven of us being there. Tonight there were four of us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.