The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

Paintings at the Colophon Cafe

I got up very early this morning (for me) so I could meet Trish Harding at the Colophon Cafe at 8:00 am to hang my paintings. As I was getting ready I suddenly remembered that I was supposed to add filament for hanging and I hadn't. Oh no! So I was feeling bummed and quite dumb. Trish had texted me with a reminder and I texted her back telling her what was up. I had a problem. I didn't have any filament at home. She replied, "I'll take care of it." What a relief that was. And she did. She fixed every single painting but one that already had filament on it from another show. That is support of a very special kind. She had class this morning and she was kind and supportive for me. Thank you Trish!!

When the paintings were up Trish took off and I stayed and had breakfast. The Colophon was just opening. I hadn't had breakfast there before and I enjoyed the yummy muff scramble and a cappuccino. Then I headed to the Bellingham Music Club for the first Wednesday morning concert. It was a doozy. Edwin Huisinga played solo baroque violin and he was fantastic. He'll be playing again tomorrow evening. If you are interested take the link above for more information.

After the morning concert we went to Mikanos Restaurant for lunch. There was a packed long table today and we all had spirited conversations with those near to us. Afterwards I stopped at the credit union to order some Euros for my trip and get a "no international fee" credit card. I also picked up some US cash. As soon as the Euros arrive I'll be good to go.

Now it is time to get serious about what to take along on the trip. I got down the biggest suitcase I have (not huge but 26 inches I think) and began to gather stuff to take. Helen and I leave on Sunday. It's coming fast and I am getting very excited.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.