Light and Shadow

Took this one in my therapist's office while she was filling the pot for tea. As always I had a great session. We talked a bit about grief and the form it is taking for me right now. It is not the kind that tears your hair and bashes your heart. Instead it is a quiet kind, a sadness tinged with relief and acceptance. I think often of Arvin these days and bring him up often in conversation when somebody says something that reminds me of him. I say, "Arvin liked that too." Or "Arvin told a joke that goes with what you are saying." He is with me all the time it seems, even though I miss him a great deal. He is there in my heart and that is good. He isn't there physically and I miss him.

I had breakfast with the Alzheimer's gang at Starbucks. John came in costume and caused quite a bit of hilarity. You can see him in the extra. I should add that without the costume he is a good looking fellow. 

On the way home from the therapist appointment I stopped at Haggen's and picked up some goodies for dinner. Steve came over and we played some games, ate a yummy meal, and watched the World Series. We routed for different teams and were both happy to see that there would be a game 7. I am not really a fan but it was nice sharing the game with Steve.

He had heard about the sadness in New York. It is time for these things to end. I do not at all understand how one thinks who does these things. I will be in New York on Monday and am looking forward to being with family and friends. My heart goes out to all the victims and families in lower Manhattan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.