Sad Day

I'm very lucky that I've been to very few funerals in my life. I was too young to go to my Grandpa's when I was eight. Mr D and I went to the football instead - he's buried in Vicarage Road cemetery opposite the football ground!
I've been to my great aunt and uncle's funerals which were very sad but they'd had a decent innings.
Fifteen years ago my friend Mrs S's dad sadly died of cancer and I went to his funeral to support her. It was heartbreaking - he had so much life left to live.
Thankfully Mrs S's mum met Mr B and made a new life with him. But as shitty luck would have it he developed lymphoma last year and today she had to say goodbye to him too.
Life is shit sometimes. When you think of some of the people walking around who deserve the worst but it always seems to happen to the nicest people.
I was glad to go today to support Mrs S. I'd only met Mr B a few times - at Mrs S's wedding, my wedding and Mr M's Christening - and hearing the tributes to him today I wish I'd known him better. It was a lovely service - lots of joyful memories.
But obviously awful. So unfair.
The wake was at a beautiful hotel near Ware. It was nice to see Mrs S and Mr D again, and her mum and brother and Mr D's mum and dad. I just wish it had been under different circumstances. It's a shame to only get together at weddings, Christenings and funerals!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.