Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Joker

Slightly later than last year, the campus colony of Harlequins has emerged, with their various shades and spot patterns.

I know that Harlequins are one of those species that nature conservationists construct as alien and therefore legitimate for destruction, but my animal ethics extend to the individual scale, which is one of the things that makes me an animal rightsist more than than an ecologist (I wrote a bit about this once - abstract viewable here - I've still got plenty of offprints if you'd like one). Inevitably, that leaves me conflicted though.

I've just finished reading Richard Mabey's Nature Cure, and he does lay a case for greater tolerance toward alien species. I'm sure people in nature conservation circles will listen to him a lot more than to me. It's a great book.

finding a home
in the spaces in between
the joker


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.