Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Shower

The day began with another gorgeous sunrise, before the mist rose from the cold ground.

This image lies at the point where I arrived in the mist after descending down to the station in the valley. The sun was breaking through, with beams probing between the branches.

By the time I arrived in Bradford, the sky was blue again, but the mist around the fountains of City Park was creating its own magic, in combination with the long shadows cast by the low sun.

As I walked up the hill towards campus, a conjunction of crane and moon provided a pleasing effect.

I hoped the sunshine might bring a few butterflies out, so at lunchtime I headed up to Horton Park. The patch that was swarming with life just a month ago was quiet, but as I was leaving the park I spotted a single Red Admiral on the flower bed at the entrance. As I followed it round the outside of the bed, what I took to be a day flying moth was disturbed and after a brief whirring flight, settled right in the heart of the bed. This was just within range of my camera, but only with a partial view, so I'm left with a mystery as to whether it was a moth, or perhaps (hopefully, but unlikely) a Skipper of some sort.

Had I not posted a sunrise yesterday, I probably would have used that for my blip today, but I thought the light through the trees had appeal.

And as it is National Poetry Day, I should leave you with a customary fragment of verse:

walking
through a spray of light
morning shower

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.