The End

This afternoon I closed the doors on my law practice after almost 11 years.

I'll still have work to do in shutting it down completely, but the website will disappear when the hosting contract expires in a couple of weeks. Today I told the internet backup supplier - such a novel concept 11 years ago - not to renew the contract in a couple of weeks.

I won't take in any new clients.

It has been an experience, and one I'm glad I took on. Working on my own suited me after 20 years working with partners and with squads of employees to (try to) keep happy. Sometimes it was lonely. Often it brought a lot of stress. More often it was satisfying, and I had some fun too.

I came very close to having a drink to celebrate, but didn't. I did think back to what I was doing in 2006, and a few of the key moments in between.

A chapter is over and a new one is about to begin.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.