But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Full Moon (nearly).

A busy day sorting out cinema stuff, and still a long way to go, and then preparing a presentation at the camera club; it was a sort of “show-and-tell.” I showed a few pictures that have given me some fun, you’ll have seen most of them; and then went interactive asking the audience what they thought of my pictures, what was wrong with them and how I could improve them. There were some interesting answers, some of which were actually polite, and it was commented that I was brave putting myself forward for criticism. My take was that I couldn’t be knocked down for putting up rubbish pictures. It was part of my campaign to start a constructive criticism group, something lacking in polite society including both the camera club and Blipfoto. It seems a popular concept as I have ten people subscribing to the concept and a meeting arranged for a fortnight before the hand-in for the next competition.
 
The Blip is of the nearly full moon (honestly), something I’ve never done before, and there was a bit of trial and error. I had always assumed that the exposure should be the same as shooting a landscape by the light of the noon-day sun; after all, the light source is the same. It turned out to be two orders of magnitude darker; something appears to have gone awry with the laws of physics, I wonder if it’s something to do with the handful of very bright highlights. I’ll have another go in a week at the half moon; the side lighting should pick out the relief rather better. At least I now know the exposure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.