But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Phacelia.

Another trip into Penicuik, this time to deliver the year’s crop of honey to the monthly market on The Lost Garden stall (see extra). I sell to the stall for £3 a pound and insist that they don’t charge less than £6 for it; I don’t believe in under-selling our produce even though I keep bees for fun and not for the honey. I assume that I could strike a harder bargain since I offered these terms and they were accepted without question, but that’s not what the garden project is about.
 
The arc of plants that give the lead-in line to the Blip is the dying phacelia just outside the garden wall, there are still one or two late flowers on it though they won't produce seed now; it is the plant that gave me the unexpected 32 lbs. of honey late in the season. At £6 a jar that would give a gross income of £192. This year I have purchased 115 kg of food for the bees, in the form of sugar, at a cost of £71.55, and there have been other expenses. While it is true that this year has not been a good year: weather has been poor, mistakes have been made, and so on, it does give justification for me setting the sale price where it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.