But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

New Bridge.

A tedious beekeeping meeting in Perth saw Janes11 and myself driving across the Third Forth Bridge to Fife for the first time; I had pictures from both the morning and at dusk on the way back but I wasn’t too keen on the results of the latter.
 
Beekeeping tedious? Well, it was mostly political, the executive were trying to bodge a perceived problem in the constitution with an incompetently worded amendment. It was really quite simple: you pay your subs which makes you a member entitled to vote at meetings, you are given a membership card as a receipt and you wave said card in the air at the meetings to cast your vote. This much is written into the constitution. You don’t need a clause to say when your membership expires if you default on your payment. I was chatting to a past-president over lunch who complained that, in her day, the constitution was written on two sides of a single piece of paper; now it has 56 pages (approximately). I voted against the motion as an act of rebellion; I think I’m turning into a stubborn old git, but no longer care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.