creative lenna

By creativelenna

Panga Marine and cameras

Yesterday we went to the Sarasota Boat Expo . . . . 
   . . . . but we DID NOT buy a boat! You may remember, that it was a different story when we visited a boat show last June ;O) This time, we went just to look. I must admit we did go to the Scout Boats booth (the kind of boat we got last June) and I did look at the next larger size (19ft vs 17ft). It was very nice, wider and longer of course, more room, but we are perfectly happy with our cute little 17.5 ft Scout! It's much more substantial than any of our other boats . . . I love it, we love it! Steve and I are planning to go out on the river today. 

Panga Marine  was the first place we stopped at the Boat Expo yesterday. We sought them out because Steve knows Scott O'Conner of Panga, you can see them talking in the top right panel. I took a photo of 3 of their boats simply because I loved the colors and the lines. A line of fishing boats . . . from their website: From Cancun water taxis to Sudan fishermen, mariners the world over recognize the seaworthiness and versatility of the Panga. Pangas are the world's most utilized small boat design. I love their logo!

These photos were taken with my Samsung Galaxy8+ phone camera and then I created the collage in pixlr. My phone camera takes pretty good shots, except for anything far away. I do still have my well-used Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ200 - it has 24x optical zoom and takes photos in the equiv of 25-600mm. I got it almost 3 years ago so I could take landscapes, birds, water & sky shots, point & shoot, easily and well, without a problem. 

I see now that there are newer long-zoom compacts out there . . . a Panasonic Lumix DC FZ80 has 60x optical zoom and takes the equiv of 20-1200mm - wow! twice as long in focal length? Or the Nikon Coolpix B700 with 60x optical zoom that takes the equiv of 20-1440mm - yikes! So I have been researching, reading reviews & specs. I am definitely a point and shoot photographer. I tried using a camera with different lenses 3 or 4 years ago and it is just not for me. My favorite seems to be "bridge type" cameras, I've had two: a Sony Cyber-SHot DSC-HX100 and my current Panasonic Lumix. Any thoughts or advice?? 

have a great weekend! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.