A Scout boat in our future???

We have a lot of boats, Steve being a water guy and us living on the river. So we went to a local boat show last weekend just to check out what's new. We walked around, inside the convention center and out - viewing kayaks with foot pedals, small boats (15 feet), huge boats (maybe 42 feet?), flats boats, pontoon boats and half listened to a fishing seminar. What I did not expect was to see a boat I liked! You guessed it, the one pictured above. I was really attending to accompany Steve on an outing he was interested in.

This is a Scout Sportfish 175, which I learned translates to 17.5 Feet. A couple more extra photos below. It is designed for fishing and is a very stable boat with only a 10" draft (how much water it draws?). I believe this means it is well suited for shallow waters. We watched a YouTube video by the original founder of the Scout Company and I was very impressed with the quality of the build. At first Steven said, "No Way! We are not buying a new boat!" but now he has admitted that in talking about with me, it may be something to consider. The best testament is that Steve told me I would love riding in this boat compared to his skiff!! The skiff is 15. 9 feet with a 15 horsepower engine -this model has a 90 engine. That means instead of going 20 mph, we could go 35, no problem! 

We have the small blue skiff which seriously, is a great little boat, but not the same as this Scout 175 -a different animal entirely! We have Chelsea too, a hand built, old fashion design . . . that goes 6 mph! We also have canoes & kayaks and who knows what else -lots of boats! But still, we are going to think about this. Perhaps a gently used Scout?? I am keen on this brand of Scout boats now after seeing & learning. Steve agrees. Whatever happens, it will be good!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.