Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

?

I think an alien spaceship may have just landed.

Ever since Mary and I decided we were going climbing today I've been dreaming/imagining myself leading Flying Buttress, I was so sure that I was going to do it... I mean why on earth not when I flew up it on the end of Debbie's rope last week?

The gear is bomber, I knew where my feet were going and I knew what I would hold onto... but I couldn't see, today, where my hands would move to next even though last week I didn't really have to think about it, I just did it.  Looking back, I think I should have rocked right over onto the left foot, brought the right foot higher and then I would've been able to reach the next handhold.  Before I began up the lovely slab it wasn't the crux I was bothered about, it was the last move at the top to get my leg over the monster jugs that worried me.  

But I didn't get that far because I just couldn't do the crux.  I had five attempts at it and really hurt my left wrist, the troublesome one, and also the right one, which is a bit of a pain - literally.  I'm slowly coming round to accepting that I may need to stop climbing for a few months to give it a chance to get better, because at the moment I'm hurting it a little bit every time I climb.  I could do more walking and yoga and, of course, the physio exercises. I don't want to though.

The first extra is of Mary in front of the annoying route.  I've down-climbed and she wanted to have a go so I left the gear in, but she didn't manage it either although she lead it back in 2011.  The second extra is Mary in the lovely golden sunset light, the third is... me, finishing my flask off and the fourth shows the crux in great detail - thanks for the pic Mary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.