Newhailes

This morning, for variety, Mr hazelh and I decided to reverse the route of one of our regular bike rides. This change also allowed us to avoid a busy road and cobbles on the last stretch home. Then, for extra fun, we diverted from the usual route on the Brunstane path at Newhailes to check the house in the autumn sunshine. As you can see from my blip, it was looking particularly fine today.

This bike ride will more likely be remembered in the future for my inability to control a skid on wet leaves and the inevitable fall the followed. When I toppled over Mr hazelh was about 100 yards ahead of me. He feared the worst when he heard my yelp: at the time we were on a wooded path next to a burn and he thought that I might have landed in the water. In reality it was a very minor accident. I hurt my right wrist when I broke my fall, but other than a little swelling on my left wrist this afternoon (I am not sure why), I have no real damage.

On return from the bike ride I embarked on transforming post-Hallowe'en bargain pumpkins into soup for the freezer. Then Mr hazelh and set off along the cycle path again, but this time on foot, to spend a fun evening with Darcie, Keith and Jackson. For supper they supplied the lasagne and garlic bread, and we took along a salad and a rather OTT bread and butter pudding (which I made last night with croissants, cream, white chocolate, and rum!)

Exercise today: 15.5 mile cycle ride, walking (15,116 steps)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.