snailspace

By snailspace

It was an odd day

Up and at 'em early today as we did not want to outstay our welcome on the campsite as it is now closed for the winter. Thus we were running far too early for our trip to the wolf park, which opens at 13:30 hrs. We decided to drive on a bit and check out the Aire for tonight's stop. Things there were fine and we managed to catch the local shop before it closed.

Mr L walked the dog and I sorted out my camera only to find my long lens missing. I looked everywhere I could imagine and it was nowhere to be found. When Mr L returned he helped with the hunt to the extent of turning out the boot as well. Nothing.

I declared the lens lost and would need to visit the wolves without it.

From the Aire at St Laurent it was a short 11k drive to the wolves via local roads... Until we reached the Route Barrée sign at the next village along. The annual Fête de Pommes et Boudin was in full swing.

My, it was busy!

We were diverted through a little housing estate and when we were delivered back into the centre of the village we missed our turn off and could not turn back. We were soon farther from our destination than when we set off and ended up taking a long route through the centre of the nearest town.

Eventually we arrived there and it was worth the journey on a beautiful crisp Autumnal day; the views were spectacular as we made our way up to 600 metres or thereabouts.

The wolf park was ok. Not distressing as some such places can be. The environment was as natural as it could be and appropriate in nature.

We did not stay for feeding time because we get no pleasure from that kind of thing, so what with the lack of a good lens and the presence of fences etc, I came away with no really good shots.

ETA - When we arrived back at the Aire, Mr L rummaged by the driver's seat and handed me my missing lens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.