SPORTS DAY

Popped into Gateshead this morning to do a bit of shopping. Quite chilly out but bright. Neil is off to play rugby this afternoon and I will have a quiet time indoors with the cats. Well I will be quiet but I doubt if they will.

My blip shows the large 4 metre high statue in among the shops in Gateshead. It is called " Sports Day " and was installed in 1986. The large figure is competing in a sack race. The artist aimed to convey a view of sport which most people could identify with - one emphasising the excitement, enjoyment and optimistic exertions of a school sports day.

The sculpture also incorporates reference to Aesop's fable of the race between the tortoise and the hare. Why the big fellow has earrings and a mohican haircut I have no idea.

Looking forward to tomorrow as I'm off to the match. Newcastle are at home to Manchester United. Hope its a good game and Newcastle are the victors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.