A Woodpecker???

A rare treat for me to be able to capture a kingfisher this morning! He didn't make it easy for me though - hiding amongst the twigs, bright light behind and his colours in shadow. 


I had once again been photographing the mist rising above the river in the early morning light. Upon returning to my car to remove my wellies and head home for breakfast, a dog walker called to me to ask whether I had noticed 'the woodpecker in the tree'. I immediately suspected that it was actually a kingfisher..... Abandoning my car, I went to investigate and, sure enough, there he was - perched just next to where I had been standing. He was beautiful to see, even though my view was largely interrupted by the bush he was in. Such a treat to start my day with!


The rest of Monday has followed it's usual pattern - coffee with my Monday friends (so good to catch up with them after my Uganda trip), stuff at home and then camera club this evening. Gradually settling back into normal routine....


Many thanks for all the great comments, stars and hearts for recent blips - most kind of you! Have a great evening!


Ann :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.