Moving On

I left my comfort zone with a loud crash this morning. It was my first day in my new job. The first day of my new career.

9am to 5pm in the new office with a 1 hour break at lunchtime. Not what I’ve been used to over the last 11 years...

It was induction and training - that boiled down to getting familiar with the IT system and the case management software. Although it’s more sophisticated than what I’m used to, I’ll just have to step up.

I’ll be sharing an open plan workspace with 2 others, although one of them jobshares, so really it’s 3 people but they won’t all be there at the same time. Two of them are in their twenties and the other is still a teenager. All women. Yes, another change from my “usual”.

I managed a whole day without swearing at the computer - no choice really (until I get to know them better) but it must be a first.    

The Blip was just what I snatched on my iPhone when I got a glimpse of the outside world at lunchtime.

Oh yes, the job. Parliamentary assistant and researcher... at least I think that’s the job title. I haven’t seen my email footer yet. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.