Taking time out

I love the changing colours of autumn. I was walking in a local national Trust property when I saw this striking, exotic, red Japanese Maple, standing out against the brown and russet hues of our local trees. It begged for attention. It was not understated. It was as though it was asking me to take its picture, so I did. Even when I played with white balance and colour, the red remained - as you can see. (original is below) It was only when I looked into the photo afterwards that I realised there were so many "back stories" which I had missed. They were not in sharp focus as I had been concentrating on my red diva. I can't go back and recapture that moment, but I regret not looking at the scene without the lens in front of me, without the distraction of the tree, to take in the swans, the ducks, the other trees, all of which now play second fiddle to the tree. It is so easy to be captivated by the loud, the strident, the one that begs for attention, the show off, that we miss the silent majority who remain in the background, quietly getting on with things. Take time to look at the big picture with the lens at your side.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.