Come on down!

I was up at the "house on the hill" here in the place I call home, for a meeting and snapped this image of our local parliament building. At present we have no functioning Assembly, so the building was relatively quiet. To me the building represents a country which has rarely been at ease with itself since its inception in 1921. It speaks to me of a people that are generous, friendly, welcoming and yet reminds me of a place which has, for decades  experienced the worst consequences of not being able to live with difference . I love this place. I made it my home. I have worked in over 40 countries but have always felt a strange, warm glow when the plane touched down in Belfast. We have a shared future here, that's without doubt, a given. It is the type of shared future that remains to be worked out. I want to be a creator rather than a consumer of this future, that's why I'm staying. That's why many other people are doing the same thing, investing in this future. Why not pay us a visit sometime soon? You'll not regret it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.