St. James centre nae more

Arthur choked on his beer, leaped to his feet.
"What's that?" he yelped.
"Don't worry," said Ford, "they haven't started yet."
"Thank God for that," said Arthur, and relaxed.
"It's probably just your house being knocked down," said Ford, downing his last pint.

A frosty morning - I scrabble around for a scraper. Then quiet Fife roads and an as-yet un-jammed journey across the Queensferry Crossing.

I tie up some loose ends at home, take a shower, and head into Edinburgh for a dental checkup. I’m already behind schedule, so I drive into the centre of town, deferring my long-term parking until later.

After receiving a clean bill of dental health, I meet Ian for a spot of pasta. It has been quite a few months since we last met up and I’ve only got an hour before my next appointment - an all-hands call, which I participate in on hands-free.

Then, it’s Waverley. I’m late for the 14:30, but it’s delayed, so I jump aboard just in time. Busy; no seat reservation; I find a space at a table in the quiet carriage; plug in earphones and start work.

Dark and cold in London. Toast and tea at the flat. Finance report for tomorrow’s board meeting. Print out job sheets for US immigration tomorrow. Horizontal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.