Every Picture Tells a Story

When I was on my mega bus pass adventure in Summer last year, I took a photo of a view which particularly struck me. I didn’t blip this photo at the time, but I’ve put a screenshot of it in today’s extras. Several months later, I was in an art gallery in Manchester and was surprised to see a greetings card showing a painting of that exact view. Today, I was thrilled to see the original painting, by Eric Ravilious in a gallery In Sheffield. It was part of an exhibition called Ravilious & Co: The Pattern of Friendship – English Artist Designers 1922 to 1942. I was hoping it would be in the exhibition but couldn’t be sure it would be. The title of the painting (and the location) is Cuckmere Haven. It is between Brighton and Eastbourne.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.