WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

For the record

... swimming in the sea only seven weeks before Christmas. This is definitely the latest I have ever swum in the open. Admittedly I only managed about five minutes -- it was very bracing. But I spent longer than the guy I admired hurling himself bodily into the waves and rushing out again five seconds later ... I knew once I got out I wouldn't be getting in again.

We got to the beach at about twelve with a picnic, and stayed till sunset, as it's likely to be our last beach day this year. The straw sun umbrellas are all gone, as are the canoes for hire and the sunlounger guy himself, the Bola Marina is closed, but the waiters from the Barraca will still bring you sunloungers and a parasol if you ask, and you can still get your drinks from the bar ... one couple even had their paella and chilled white wine served on the beach. This beach restaurant is actually open every single day of the year.

It did get chilly quite quickly as soon as the sun dipped below the horizon -- only 16C as we headed home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.