Acqua Alta

The acqua attacked us form both sides today, there was flooding in not only in Piazza San Marco, but also in random areas around the city. While we were being attacked from below with the high water we were also attacked from the heavens. It rained almost non stop from morning till night, but was probably at its heaviest in late afternoon. We are promised better weather tomorrow, and possibly no “acqua alta”.

So I am not wanting or expecting any sympathy, it is still great to be in one of the most unique cities in the world and in my favourite country. I did take shelter from the elements a couple of times during the day however, and probably I have clocked up fewer steps than typically when I am in Venice.

It is hard to believe this is “off season”, there are still masses of tourists around, and the restaurants are still very busy. The vaporetti were packed. It makes me wonder how Venice copes in summer.

On the North (I think) side of Piazza San Marco the pavement was completely flooded, so access to the shops was non existent. A few people were barefoot, but they did not look to be in the spending bracket of the shops concerned.

The sellers of disposable wellies were doing great business. Of course I am too mean or too stubborn to indulge in such weakness. As a results I got my shoes, socks and feet soaked in the morning. Then in the evening, when the water level had gone down, but it was a little bit dark I walked straight into a deep puddle and got soaked again. Never mind, the shoes should have dried by tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.