Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Would You like to live here?

After another quiet day at home. Got news that my friend (whose home we stayed in in July) lost her Dad last night. So sad. Didn't really feel like doing much after that, but by 4pm, decided we should venture out to look for pink blips get some fresh air!!

Within 3 minutes of starting my car and turning the corner, I got booked by a policeman for not having my seatbelt on. I know, I know, I was getting to it... I then nearly got another fine for not having my drivers licence on me, but for some reason, he let me off that. For two seconds I wondered if I should have just stayed home, but no; it looked like a nice day and I wanted to be out.

First stop... the end of Dubai Creek which is now a Conservation area for migratory birds to stop off. We have flamingoes (YES!) amongst other birds and G got her pink blip. We then headed out to one of the newer developments (Jumeirah Village South) and found this row of homes... all nicely painted in PINK! You can own your own property here but most people still rent from investors.

G & I had once considered buying an apartment on this development but decided against it as the laws for ownership are still being formulated. It is also out in the sticks and I am too much of a city kid. There will be lots of facilities, including a metro line, but that is still at least 5-10 years away!

Don't miss the jet-ski...

In other news - talking about these new developments, as Dubai slowly recovers from the recession, an announcement was made at this years' Cityscape Exhibition, that a bigger and better replica of the Taj Mahal (and some of the other wonders of the world - Eiffel Tower, Leaning Tower of Pisa) will be built in Dubai by 2015! Actually not too far from where this development is. Embarrased, I am!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.