First Snow!

I was at work, and I had just come out of a meeting, when I looked out the window and saw it: SNOW! The weather forecast had said there might be rain mixed with snow for some period of time during the day.

What nobody expected was that it would snow all afternoon! But I didn't know that yet when I took this photo. In fact, by the time it was done, though it never really "stuck" to the roads, the snow covered the grass and the tops of the trees. A lovely little powdered-sugar snow.

The first snow of the year is one of the most delightful little storms. Christmas is coming, my heart said, full of joy. There we were, smack dab in the middle of autumn prettiness, when the snow began to fall. First just a little, then faster and thicker. Faster and more!

I couldn't contain myself. I had to go outside and be inside the snowstorm, like living inside a snow globe. So after I took a few photos (including this one out the window of a second-floor meeting room at work), I grabbed my coat and ran outside.

And on the sidewalk, like a fool, I pranced and danced and twirled inside the snowstorm. Snow landed on my head, on my coat, everywhere. Just a few minutes, really. But only when I was thoroughly damp and cold did I go back inside. Feeling distinctly silly but very happy.

For goodness' sake, what kind of girl dances in the snowstorm?
THIS one, that's who!

The soundtrack: Frank Mills, with Music Box Dancer. Just for fun, here's a second version of this song that features actual dancers. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.