Streets of Gold

Heaven is under our feet, as well as over our heads. - Henry David Thoreau.

I had a dentist appointment in Boalsburg first thing in the morning. There had been a hard frost overnight, and the grass was covered in silver that sparkled whenever the sun hit it.

After my appointment, I took a quick drive through Boalsburg, just tooling around, and I looked up a hill in town to see this glorious sight: a shining pathway of gold, backlit with morning light.

The road made an enchanting turn into the distance, and it looked so inviting. Of course, you know how I am: I had to stop the car to get a better look. And so I jumped out and I walked a little ways up that shining pathway into the sun. The road was covered in leaves; mostly maple, I think.

The sight made me think about heaven, and about the streets of gold they talk about. And I wondered how heaven could possibly be more beautiful than Pennsylvania is in the autumn.

And I stopped a moment, and I was simply, deeply happy. I am grateful for the magic that lives inside the trees; that bursts forth with color in springtime, that greens up and grows full in the summer, and that covers our pathways with gold when autumn comes.

And I thought quietly to myself, in my deepest heart of all hearts: Heaven is right here. It is lying beneath our feet.

The soundtrack: I can't decide, so you win. You get to hear all THREE! :-)
Marc Cohn, Saving the Best for Last.
Natalie Merchant, When They Ring the Golden Bells (live, prerecorded)
The Eagles, Learn to be Still.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.