Oliver Cromwell steams up the Golden Valley

We've both been feeling lethargic today, despite the encouragement of the autumnal sunshine. The overcast start to the day didn't last long and turned out to be thick low lying mist, which the warming sunshine gradually cleared. The views from our house were beautiful with the receding mists gradually ebbing up the valley sides, revealing rich colours in the landscape.

I planned to blip this steam train, 70013, Oliver Cromwell, as it was crossing the big viaduct over the canal and River Frome on the edge of Stroud. Helena was going to the theatre again in Gloucester, where a friend would be performing, so couldn't come to see this always inspiring event. I drove about on the opposite hillside to us to check whether I could find a good vantage point to film the engine with the sun behind me, but I realised that the tree lining the river would obscure much of the viaduct.

So I drove a couple of miles eastwards up the Golden Valley, with the road and railway lines following the river and canal as they all wind steeply towards Chalford. I decided to check out the signal box by St Mary's Mill, where there is a level crossing, and found the signal man was very happy for me to stand right beside the track. At least the sun would be shining on the side of the train, and I wouldn't have to shoot into the sun. There is a big walled embankment which holds up the main road, whilst on the other side of the track there are about ten yards separating it from the old canal, beyond which the adjacent river also flows.

Within a few minutes about a dozen people all congregated there with me, all excited by the prospect of the steam engine running straight up the track to wards us. The signalman told us that we had two minutes, as the train had just passed through Stroud station. Looking westwards, we saw the smoke rising behind the trees and then the engine appeared about a quarter of a mile away on the twisting curves of the track that have to following the winding valley.

I heard several people comment on how fast it seemed to be going as it approached us, but I was following it in drive mode. Stupidly I let the camera hit its buffer and it ground to a halt briefly, so I only had a choice of a couple of shots when it came close to where we were standing. I also liked the long shots of our first view of it in the distance.

It was great to smell the smoke and feel the brute power of the big engine working hard as it was designed to do. The slope of the track becomes increasingly steep after this spot, as it climbs through Chalford and up the infamous Sapperton Bank to the summit, where it dives into a long tunnel and then on to Swindon.


Edit:
I've put a couple of other views in my blipfolio, as I wanted to try it out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.