Fire near Thrupp

Today has left me feeling as if I've been pulled in many directions at the same time.

Catching up at my desk late in the afternoon, my eye noticed something unusual through the window, so I looked up to see a fire burning across the fields. I thought I wouldn't blip today, but this surprise event offered me a possibility.

I think this must have been a bonfire, though I could see no-one nearby. It seems to be burning close to the hedge between Home Orchard (as marked on my 1842 tithe map) and Thrupp House, the house at centre of the estate in the 17th century, whose roof you can see behind. The residents are in my ward. The fire went away quite quickly, so I wonder if the farmer was just burning off some rubbish, rather than kids setting fire to the trees which does happen occasionally (I must admit I am assuming it is kids, but no evidence available).

Sadly the orchard disappeared many decades ago and there are recent indications that a developer wants to turn that field into houses. What a blow that would be, even though there is a need for many more homes. Everyone loves this valley just the way it is, but they would probably have preferred that our house hadn't been built here in the 1930s. Right now , I'm glad it was so I can look out and blip for you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.