CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Where the Cow is King

Heading over to Nailsworth to drop off Helena's bags, I took the pretty route over Rodborough and Minchinhampton Commons. I saw cows grazing on the golf course, which they seem happy to share with the golfers. On my way back, I parked and wandered amongst them as they munched and regurgitated. Many were lying on the grass snoozing in the warm sunlight, nestling in the lee of the winds.

This cow stood contentedly, though carefully watching me approach, as it's young calf attacked her udders. Every few seconds he/she nose-butted her mother apparently to try and force out more milk. It looked quite painful, but the cow seemed quite unmoved. On the ground was a trail of white froth, which was obviously leakage from all the relentless suckling. You can see the excess milky froth running down the calf's bottom jaw.

We are so lucky to have this ancient practice of grazing the commons. Last night, I found my old copy of Where the Cow is King by J. V. Smith, the story of the ancient royal demesne of Minchinhampton. I read in bed of the history of the common's earliest royal connection in AD896, when King Alfred, (yes him) heard complaints from the Bishop of Worcester about the encroachment to his boundaries.

in 1066, William the Conqueror followed ancient Saxon tradition and took over the manor from his second cousin, Edward the Confessor. He then gave the demesne to his eldest daughter Cecily, who became the Abbess of Caen, in Normandy. From then on this area has been farmed by grazing sheep, pigs, rabbits and probably cattle. That is at least 950 years of continuous usage, if not much longer. The Romans had built earthworks close to this site by about AD200 and there is an Iron Age camp's remains only half-a-mile away.

I am pleased with how my old camera is coping. I found the instruction manual which has helped, as I had forgotten many of it's options. But I REALLY want to buy a new camera body. I bought a Lottery ticket yesterday for tonight's draw. Wish me luck!

ps
Went over the common again tonight and the light at dusk was striking. Saw some of the Highland cattle too, with their majestic presence. I will blip them soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.