CoffeePotter

By CoffeePotter

The Old Bat and the old bat

I played table tennis this afternoon for a couple of hours, and really enjoyed it. I used to play a lot, in a league, when I was in my late teens and early 20's, but meeting C and changing my main sport to scuba diving meant that I haven't really played for 40 years, except a couple of times on holiday.
I don't know whose bat this is - it's either our son's old bat, or one that we bought to take on holiday. I can't find my own, although I know it was around when we moved house. I was going to take a photo of the table and a bit of action - but totally forgot until I arrived home! I played with a group who meet at the next village every week, so I'm planning to go regularly (depending on how much I ache tomorrow and the day after!) 
This retirement lark is very tiring! I awoke around 3:45 and couldn't get back to sleep, probably because C was getting up at 5 am to drive to Taunton and then catch a train to Birmingham, and then another to Erdington. He had a call from a client a couple of days ago asking him to go. The train was actually about an hour faster than driving, and far less stressful. He wouldn't have needed to leave as early as he did, but he had to go and buy his ticket first as he couldn't get it online (because of a problem getting his Railcard).  He should be back about 8 pm and I'm sure will be totally exhausted after such a long day.
Last night's "Retirement Celebration" meal was fabulous. We went to Hix Oyster and Fish House, which is perched on a hill above Lyme Regis. It has floor to ceiling windows, so wonderful panoramic views too. The food and service were both excellent. Evidently he had booked it for tonight but had to contact them and change it quickly to last night because of his trip to Birmingham. He could only get the table for 6:30 pm but that was perfect because of his early start today. AND I was able to have a drink because he drove too - first time in a couple of years, because of his poor eyesight before his cataract op 3 weeks ago. He was ok to drive before, but wherever possible I did. 
8 am today - roofer. 8:30 am - electrician. 8:45 am - plumber.  And I thought I'd be getting lie ins!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.