Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Abstract Thursday

I have never joined in on the Abstract Thursday challenge, so this represents a leap for me.  However, I've been suffering some loss of mojo recently so thought it would be fun to try something way outside of my wheelhouse.  When I saw that this week's theme was "natural surprise", I thought that I would be able to find something pretty easily.  Wrong.  I flitted all around the garden, taking photos of this and that, thinking that I'd certainly get something edgy and cool. What I got was a lot of macro shots of fairly boring and mundane things.  Oh, yes, an interesting seed head or two, but nothing special.

I finally settled on this shot, although I'm not entirely sure it is truly an "abstract" image.  It's one of the rapidly fading leaves from a hosta plant along the patio.  They turn an intense shade of yellowish-orange before falling off in a rotten heap.  I think you will probably see some much better abstract images if you click HERE for this week's entries.  Many thanks to Ingeborg for hosting.

We continue to have large numbers of waxwings and robins all over the yard, to my delight.  Today, I also spotted a mockingbird and a yellow-bellied sapsucker in with one of the flocks.  I wish I'd been able to get a shot of the sapsucker, but it wasn't to be.  

We had the first real frost of the year last night and the yard was quite crispy this morning.  Friday night the low temperatures will dip into the teens, so that will be a killing frost.  As it is, only the flowers right next to the house are still putting out blooms.  I'll probably pick the rest of them tomorrow as they won't survive the night.

Hubs and I are off to have dinner with one of his business partners tonight - should be an enjoyable evening.  

As always, thank you so very much for stopping by.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.