Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Princess & the Pea

All the dog's blankets & all the dog's quilts have been washed & dried, folded & stacked, ready & waiting for the next time they are required. Nanouk has found & chosen the stack as the perfect location for her interpretation of “The Princess & The Pea”

She's a funny little character; simultaneously as adorable & as ferocious as a polar bear, and we named her Nanouk even before we knew this, purely because she is all-over snowy-white. Actually, I had wanted to call her Fasma; Greek for ghost, or spectre, because the evil boss of S.P.E.C.T.R.E. in the James Bond movies always has a white cat on his lap. But Greek people didn't want us to do that, so we didn't.

I'm not sure if I have mentioned in previous posts about this particular animal, but one very peculiar trait of hers is that she is so aloof, so desperately posh, that when she was just a little kitten, venturing to the cat-litter to do a poo made her cry! Bless!

When she is sleeping I swear she is a fairytale princess with an imaginary pet unicorn named Tiara. But when she is awake she growls at anything furry within a couple of feet of her, even while eating. She's kind-of-OK with males of most species, and kind-of-vile with their female counter-parts. Sometimes she chooses to give me male status and in those moments I can be tolerated. 

Mostly when she's awake she goes out and kills things. I suppose when it boils down to it, I don't like her very much more than she likes me, but sometimes she pretends, and sometimes so do I.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.