Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Indulgence!

My regular routine goes like this; I get up at 6am and make a pot of coffee and my lunchtime sandwich. There follows a variably interesting battle with the shower. I dry off and get dressed for work. I construct my morning muesli and check emails, and then, if time permits, I look at blip (and drink my coffee of course). After that I clean my teeth, switch off everything in the flat (except for the fridge) and put on my cycling fancy dress.

When I arrive at the office I boot up my PC and while it is waking up and working out whether or not I am the employee I claim to be, I divest myself of the fancy dress (and blow my nose – cycling seems to encourage a bit of snot, I am learning)

By 8am I am stuck into whichever task is flashing “Urgent” on my task list, and so it continues until 4pm, with or without a 30 minute break to stretch my eyes from the three enormous screens with which I work.
The decision to take a break is entirely mine and is decided upon by these factors;
Am I enjoying my task too much to leave my desk?
Would my eyes be grateful for a little respite?
Is it nice outside?
Is there a photo-opportunity?

And so at 4pm I save my work, shut down my PC, don my cycling fancy dress and head home. When I get indoors I turn on the hot water and the heating, check the fridge and elsewhere for bare necessities, and then head out to the mall. It's not exactly the same as when I lived in Glossa, but there are similarities.

A new shop has just opened next door to Sainsbury's, and everything in it costs a fiver. I have checked it out and it is all rubbish. However, the curiously odd shop just beyond that has decided to sharpen its pencils as a result of the new competition, so I perused.

I have accidentally returned home with a polka-dot frock, and two cardigans, one purple and one teal. It's my hysterversary and I think I am allowed to treat Veera to a new outfit.

Until now I had been unaware that I shared this anniversary with Kristallnacht – I shan't forget in future years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.