Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Goldilocks has arrived!

Emmaus opens for business at 9am and I had agreed with them a Saturday morning delivery to include a fifteen minute advance notice phone call so I could remove two doors into my flat. At 9:26 I received a call to tell me that the van with the chair was outside in the street, so I went down to let them in and warned them that if we found that the doors did need to come off, they would have to wait a moment or two while I saw to it. As it turned out the doors did not need to come off and my huge squashy armchair was all set up in place by 10am. Which meant I still had time to finish the irritating little sewing repair job I had been dragging out for over a week. After that there was still time to kill so I measured up and hung some pictures on the wall in my little undercroft den before heading out to meet Arachne in London.

(This is the most comfortable piece of furniture I have EVER owned, and if either the real Goldilocks, or even Baby Bear turns up looking for it they will get short shrift from me I can tell you!)

We (Arachne & I) had planned to visit the Tower of London to see the 10,000 torches in the moat being lit. Shortly before we arrived the heavens opened. Charcoal grey skies, glistening streets, people scuttling for cover and pubs heaving and steamy all seemed entirely appropriate additions to the atmosphere for this sombre remembrance of so many lives lost in appalling conditions. I have put a couple in extras, they aren't good quality, which is why they are in extras and not the main image, but I hope you get a feeling of what it was like.

We remained in place until about 6:30 and saw much of the moat lit, but we were frozen and drenched and stiff and it was time to move before we couldn't. Arriving home and checking news I see that Trump was less brave – no brolly perhaps? No change of socks? Poor delicate soul.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.