Allentown noir

You were dead, you were sleeping the big sleep, you were not bothered by things like that, oil and water were the same as wind and air to you. You just slept the big sleep, not caring about the nastiness of how you died or where you fell.

I retrace my subway journey to Boston airport and settle into the Admiral Lounge. There’s a side room lined with work cubicles where I catch up on emails and eat breakfast.

Hours later, I land in Philadelphia and make the familiar journey to Phoenixville to collect my King Crimson tickets. Next stop, a grim mall at Audubon where I’m meeting up with Chuck for dinner at the Audubon Ale House. I picked a bad month to give up drinking.

Finally, an extended drive to Allentown. I listen to Natasha Raskin Sharp on Radio Scotland and arrive just after her show ends at eight pm local time. I miss the parking spot first time and make a dumb manoeuvre while negotiating the one way system, but I survive with only being honked at.

The apartment is spacious. Cia runs a nail bar from here, so I’ll see how easy it is to work here tomorrow. But for today, I’m done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.