Out of season...

I'm not doing very well at reducing my rate of blipping so far, but I wanted to share this longhorn beetle Rhagium mordax, which has just hatched out of a lump of red-rotten oak from Chatsworth. This very common species is usually found between May and July, so it seems a bit unfair to release it just as autumn is setting in. We may just have to keep it in captivity, feeding it on dilute honey and water as a substitute for nectar.

The stonewort training course went well, and, after heavy rain throughout the night, we were blessed with continuous sunshine. By the afternoon it was even warm! We studied eight different species, and even the complete beginners were fairly confident identifying four of these by the end of the day.

I now feel fairly shattered after a full day focusing on the group's requirements, and explaining things that I take for granted without using too much jargon! I don't know how teachers deal with a whole class - I only had ten in the group and they were all keen to be there and learn as much as possible. I certainly don't think I could do it day after day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.