Overwhelming

 
I was feeling a little sorry for myself on the way to work today.  My eye was stuck shut with gunk this morning and it took about 5 minutes of careful washing to get it open.  Checking it after my shower there was a further incident which involved a substantial release of pus into my eye (and elsewhere) and a need to get back in the shower to clean it again. Eurgh. 
 
I could tell I was going to have poor self control today so I went into a shop to get some fruit and carrots to chew on in the office so I didn’t resort to eating less healthy things.  This took me a slightly different route, and I was fairly oblivious to my surroundings until I got to this junction and checked for traffic.  The burst of light and colour on the slopes of the Castle Rock overwhelmed me momentarily, it was so bright, and vibrant, and unexpected in the shadow of the street I was walking. 
 
I live in a beautiful city and I do try to make sure I appreciate it, but I’m still sometimes caught by surprise by an unanticipated view like this.
 
That quite cheered me up, and gave me a blip for the day into the bargain.  I had a good day at the office too, making progress on quite a few things.  I’m juggling a lot of different stuff at the moment, but I’ve got through the week without dropping anything and next week should be a little quieter.
 

My eye feels a bit better now too, the pressure seemingly eased by this morning’s incident.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.