Passchendaele Poppy

Saturday 11th November 2017 (1904)

The concert last night with the Silver Band was very moving, especially when there were videos played behind them. One video contained the words of a poem written by Paul Hunter in 2014 "The Poppy - I am not a badge of honour." It was the first time I had come across this poem. 

I recently treated myself to a Passchendaele Poppy. It is made from shells collected from the battle fields and the red centre also contains soil from around Passchendaele. As the poem says, this is not a fashion statement. It is part of Every Man Remembered, each poppy made representing one soldier killed at Passchendaele. Mine is in memory of 1717 Private A E Allen of the Lincolnshire Regiment who died on 4th October 1917. I don't know of him, he is not related, but he was someone's son, possibly a husband, possibly a father. This is a reminder of a life given for our freedom. 

We will remember them.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.