11th hour, 11th day, 11th month - 100 years on

Remembrance Sunday 11th November 2018


I do find it amazing that the centenary of WW1 managed to get the 11th Nov to fall on Remembrance Sunday. We had an amazing service this morning, it was standing room only, with 466 people in church. It was an emotional service. I also found it very emotional when our church bells rang, with others all over the country, at 12.30pm signifying the celebrations of the end of hostilities. 

Another 100 people visited the church this afternoon and we had a good number at the closing service. A powerful weekend. We will also have raised a lot of money for the "There but not there" charities. 

The displays were generally all local people but I created this one, which also included some work from the school children, and managed to slip in photos of my gt-uncle, killed in action 10th June 1918, and my granddad who was injured - both Market Harborough people.

When we finally closed the doors this evening I was taken out to the local Indian restaurant for a meal and a chance to relax. 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.