Lest we forget

A very beautiful day in Oban today, though with a brisk and chilly wind. I thought I'd go down to the War Memorial to watch the 'Isle of Mull' set off for Craignure, bearing Daughter No 1 home. It was too early for any Remembrance Sunday activities, so I parked and hung about on the Esplanade for 45 minutes, gradually freezing! The lifeboat left its station and motored up to stand offshore during the ceremony. I put this on as an extra together with a couple of others..

The parade eventually came by and I followed it along the road to the memorial and watched the proceedings. Apparently the last two years were marked by driving rain, so today was a relief to the organisers! Inevitably the crap-conscious part of me couldn't help noticing the almost empty flower trough at the base of the memorial, containing one dead begonia, and the litter under the nearby seat. Maybe next year I'll go down the day before and clean up and put a few plants in the trough! Apart from that it was a good experience!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.