Harlow Carr

My friend Tim and I made our way to the RHS garden at Harlow Carr, just outside Harrogate, for our BPS meeting at 10am. The day's programme was a good one, ranging from the highly technical - which I barely understood - to the downright practical, which I felt more in tune with.

During the lunch break we were taken on a short tour of the garden by a charming young woman from New Jersey, by name of Aimee,   concentating of course on the fern beds. It was good to meet a number of old friends and many other fern enthusiasts. Naturally I bought a few small ferns, including Asplenium ritoense, a little wall-rue from Taiwan and Woodwardia prolifica, a chain fern from Japan. All I need now is somewhere to grow them!

At the end of the day we drove up the A1(M) to Leeming Bar, where we had booked B&B in a local hostelry.

A good day all round.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.