Bom

By Bom

Remembrance Sunday

G, M and I went to the Remembrance Sunday service in Holt today. It reminded me so much of the ones I used to attend as a child in the town I grew up in, where the names on the memorial belonged to families that still lived in the town. There was a parade through the town of members of the Royal British Legion, uniformed organisations and civic dignitaries. During the service the names on the memorial were read out and the Last Post was played, which was very moving.

During the two minute silence I thought of family members killed during war. However, I also thought of the time I helped build and plant the ceramic poppies in the Tower of London moat three years ago. Whilst making a poppy, you couldn't help but think of the fact that it represented one of the lives lost and you treated it with special care. But the thing that moved me so deeply was looking up to see the thousands upon thousands of poppies and the terrible loss of life that represented. I've added a couple of photos I took on that day as Extras, please take a look and ponder.

At the going down of the sun and in the morning 
We will remember them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.