Co-host

Hosting dos at my place is not something I have much experience in. I haven't had a flatwarming since I moved in last New Year's Eve as I'm always out of the country and it takes me six months to get a pair of curtains up. Coupled with the semi-milestone birthday earlier this week, I decided to host a gathering. The theme was 'pretentious soirée that quickly unravels to reveal I don't know what I am doing.'

Most friends were local to Cambridge but Hannah and Malesi arrived from Shrewsbury just in the nick of time to resurrect the evening. I'd over-catered (judging everyone by my own gluttonous standards) but was standing around ineffectually clutching a bag of carrot batons, until they took preparations in hand. Music, candles and cheese and pineapple on sticks came together under their efficient supervision.

Malesi baked this fantastic-looking and delicious cake and they both showered me with presents, including a shirt which I quickly donned for the evening. Friends were on form and the atmosphere was jovial. I think people enjoyed the colour scheme and the nicely arranged Scotch eggs. No one overdid it on the booze and no complaints from neighbours were received.

I could get used to this hosting lark. But only if Han and Malesi are present.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.