Observational Perspective

We wandered up onto the Scar today to pause and pay our respects. After yesterday I couldn't go far, but it was the sort of bracingly crisp day that made you glad to be alive. Apt. 

I spent a lot of the day filling in the personal review for the fostering panel. A truly trite way for them to try and get to know us. For the question 11 "what annoys you?" I've put "badly designed processes and forms...." Question 27 asks about sense of humour. I've pointed them back to question 11....
I really do fail to see the point of "what would you change about the past" type questions. However bad parts of my childhood were they've shaped the who, where and why of me - whilst they give me the knowledge and desire to make sure it never happens to those in our care, it's a fools errand to spend real time on the what ifs of yesteryear.

Needing a break from dredging up the long distant past I headed out onto the common as the sun fell in glorious style. I wandered a fair way out from my usual viewing point to try and have the sunset and the murmuration, of course not realising till I did that shooting into the sun would be hugely difficult. Whilst I wasn't as 'in' the event as last week I've tried to capture it on video, it was also lovely to see it from a different perspective. From this vantage point the drops into the trees and the arrival of flocks as it builds were both more noticeable. I was quite surprised to see the whole murmuration start with probably 20 birds, I'd estimate there are 20,000+ by the time they roost, and it's sure to grow. 

Short video

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.