Little things

It's not the miles that wear you down, it's the stone in your shoe. 

I seem to be prone to foot based metaphor at the moment. 
A day of little things good and bad. Lots of procedural stuff and preparation ahead of the conference &  AGM I'm soon to Chair. Most of my colleagues have worked really well this year, but a couple really are dead weight. Sadly the greater good in turning this dysfunctional ship around means that it's better to cover for them, to put their names against unimportant (refuse to say "not mission critical") pieces of work knowing they won't get done, but it rankles. Slowly we're building an ethos and team where this becomes apparent and the membership ask the right questions, but there's little measure in hanging people for sport. 

On the home front the weather has turned pleasingly chill, so obviously one of our heaters has failed to wake up. Sad to discover our wonderful sparky has given up and taken a job working away, now we'll have to get someone new. Never easy in a rural area. 

I took a break from small annoyances and wandered the garden filling various feeders. Stood under the Goat Willow I thought to myself "I've not seen the squirrels for a while". Then I saw him sat mere feet from me. . Made me smile. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.