Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Rudolph Has An Itch

I stopped by my local chicken farm to buy eggs today. As a sideline they also have a herd of reindeer, so besides buying eggs I stopped to give Rudolph my Christmas List to say hello. There are also a few other animals on the farm - a couple of rare breed pigs, lots of ducks and geese, and now a couple of kid goats. (See extra photo). They’re all very friendly!

In other news - I’ve been partially without electricity since last night as I have a porch light that’s failed and now I’ve completely lost one ‘ring’ in my house. I have no ceiling lights downstairs and no kitchen lights at all. On top of that I’ve had no water since about 9 this morning. Well, I’ve had SOME water as I have water tanks, but no cold water coming in the mains tap in the kitchen. I soon found out that it wasn’t just me - 14,000 homes in Twyford and Woodley were without water due to a maintenance problem at the nearby pumping station. I was told it was an electrical fault - I hope it wasn’t my blown fuse that did it?

Anyway - I was quite impressed with the Thames Water customer service - they brought in truck loads of bottled water today and were giving it away free at three points in our area. They talked me into taking 12 bottles (2L each) and another 6 for a neighbour who didn’t have a car.

My electrician came at dinner time tonight and got my electricity back on. And the water started flowing about the same time. See? It MUST have been me! Sorry, everyone!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.